LibGuides: CN: Getting Started in Counseling Research: Articles

What is a scholarly article?

This 3 minute video from Vanderbilt University's Peabody Library defines scholarly journal and explains how to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.

This is a short video from the Lincoln Memorial University which explains the difference between Scholarly and Popular Sources.

Where can I find this article in full-text?

Sound familiar? You have a citation for an article you'd like to read, but don't know where to find the complete article.

Use Full Text Finder to see if the article is available in a library database. Follow these steps:

Enter the name of the publication in which the item appeared.
Click Search. Your results will provide a link to library databases containing the complete article.
Check the dates of coverage. If the library subscribes to a print copy of the journal, that will be noted. If the items is not available, give interlibrary loan services a try.

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window

Which databases have counseling articles?

The databases below are great starting points for locating articles related to counseling. Enter your search terms and scroll down the search screen to choose from options for limiting your search. Limit to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed Journals or Full Text).

Password required: Log in with the same credentials you use to access your Lakeland email and Blackboard.

PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window

PsycARTICLES video directions.

Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window

PsycINFO video directions.

SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window

Directions (5 minute video)

Academic Search Premier (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window

Directions for EBSCO databases (video)

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Locate scholarly articles, court cases, and books. Not all articles are peer-reviewed. Limited full-text availability. Google Scholar settings can be configured to link to John Esch library database contents.