LibGuides: Religion and Social Justice Studies (REL/SJS): Find Articles

Library Databases with articles on religious topics.

Password required: Log in to the library databases with the same username and password you use to access your Lakeland email account or Blackboard.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Also includes Botany/Ecology titles. Delay in full-text availability from 1-6 years.

Directions for JSTOR (video 4:05)

Academic Search Premier (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Created for college-level research, this database covers many subject areas and provides full-text articles from magazines and journals. Unsure which database to use? This is often a great first choice. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
MasterFILE Complete (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
'It covers many areas of general interest, containing full text for more than 870 reference books, over 2,300 full text periodicals, over 73,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 1.6 mil. photos, maps & flags.' --EBSCOhost (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
Humanities International Complete (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of hundreds of humanities-related journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Courtesy of BadgerLink.

Directions EBSCO (video 6:37)

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers current social issues with information in print, audio and video formats. Look here for topics such as First Amendment and religion.

What is a scholarly article?

This 3 minute video from Vanderbilt University's Peabody Library defines scholarly journal and explains how to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.

This is a short video from the Lincoln Memorial University which explains the difference between Scholarly and Popular Sources.

This article was cited in my textbook. Is it available in a library database?

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window
List of all journals, magazines and ebooks available in full-text in Lakeland's library databases. When you have a citation and wonder if the article is available, give Full Text Finder a try.

Interlibrary Loan (request from other libraries)

Place your order. If our library doesn't have what you need, use the library's Interlibrary Loan services. The item will be requested from other libraries. If available, articles usually arrive within 3-5 days. Books take up to two weeks. Submit a request.