LibGuides: CN/PSY/SOC: Find Articles

What is a scholarly article?

This 3 minute video from Vanderbilt University's Peabody Library defines scholarly journal and explains how to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.

This is a short video from the Lincoln Memorial University which explains the difference between Scholarly and Popular Sources.

Where can I find this article?

Image: Derivitive geralt. CC0 1.0.

Need to locate an article from a citation? Use Full Text Finder. Enter the title of the journal in which the article appeared. Your results will include a link to the appropriate database if the article is available in Lakeland's online library.

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window

Full-text Finder says, "No results found." Now what? Give our interlibrary loan services a try.

Interlibrary Loan

Databases to Help You Locate Psychology Articles

These databases provide substantial coverage of psychology and counseling topics. Password required: log in using the same credentials you use to access Blackboard.

List of all library databases by title.

PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Provides full text, peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals. Offers a variety of helpful search options including limiting your results by research methodology.

Directions (6 minute video)

Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Covers broad range of psychological topics with summaries (abstracts) for over 640 titles with over 540 available in full-text. Relevant to researchers in all areas of psychology, counseling, leadership, human resources management, organizational behavior, personality, psychometrics and psychobiology.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window Access to publications by Sage Publishing. Scholarly journals in business, counseling, social sciences and humanities are included. Limited full-text.

Directions (5 minute video)

Education Research Complete (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window Education articles from scholarly and trade sources covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education with many in full-text. Chapters from education books also included. (Courtesy of Badgerlink.)

Directions (7 minute video)

EBSCOhost Database list

PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window From the American Psychological Association, this database provides summaries (abstracts) for psychology-related materials from the 1800s to present, including journals, books, dissertations and more. No full text although database is set up to link to full text availability in other ProQuest databases. Check Full Text Finder using journal title before ordering articles through Interlibrary Loan.

Directions (7 minute video)

PubMed Central PubMed Central is portion of PubMed that provides complete articles. If you wish to limit your search, to items within PubMed that include the complete article , use this link.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Locate scholarly articles, court cases, and books. Not all articles are peer-reviewed. Limited full-text availability. Google Scholar settings can be configured to link to John Esch library database contents.