LibGuides: PSY 335 Research Methods for Behavioral Sciences: Articles

What is a scholarly article?

This 3 minute video from Vanderbilt University's Peabody Library defines scholarly journal and explains how to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.

This is a short video from the Lincoln Memorial University which explains the difference between Scholarly and Popular Sources.

Where can I find this article?

Image: Derivitive geralt. CC0 1.0.

Need to locate an article from a citation? Use Full Text Finder. Enter the title of the journal in which the article appeared. Your results will include a link to the appropriate database if the article is available in Lakeland's online library.

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window

Full-text Finder says, "No results found." Now what? Give our interlibrary loan services a try.

Interlibrary Loan

Great Sources of Scholarly Articles for Behavioral Sciences

EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window

Carefully read the description of each database. Check the databases you wish to search. Good choices for scholarly behavioral science articles include:

Academic Search Premier (multi-disciplinary)
Business Source Complete (business and non-profit)
Education Research Complete (education and psychology)

Directions (video 5:17)

Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Access U.S. and international criminal justice journals, trade publications, crime reports and more.

Directions (video 7:21)

SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Access to publications by Sage Publishing. Scholarly journals in business, counseling, social sciences and humanities are included. Limited full-text.

Directions (video 6:49)

PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text, peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals. Offers a variety of helpful search options including limiting your results by research methodology.

Directions (video 6:21)

PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
From the American Psychological Association, this database provides summaries (abstracts) for psychology-related materials from the 1800s to present, including journals, books, dissertations and more. No full text although database is set up to link to full text availability in other ProQuest databases. Check Full Text Finder using journal title before ordering articles through Interlibrary Loan.

Directions (video 6:54)

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Locate scholarly articles, court cases, and books. Not all articles are peer-reviewed. Limited full-text availability. Google Scholar settings can be configured to link to John Esch library database contents.