LibGuides: BIO 475 & 476: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the library guide for students in BIO 475 & 476: Scientific Writing and Analysis I & II. This guide is designed to acquaint you with biology-related resources available in the John Esch Library and beyond.

Password required: Log in to the library's online resources using the same username and password you use to access your Lakeland email account or Blackboard.

Credit: Wikimedia Commons

(Guide creator: Joe Pirillo. Currently maintained by Ann Penke.)

Resources

Links to specific science journals are provided below. Looking for a topic idea? Browse the journals below for ideas. Already have a topic? Use the databases listed under the Articles tab to find articles on your topic.

BioScience
"Presents articles dealing with current advances in the field of biological science for researchers, administrators and teachers." from EBSCO
Ecology
"Ecology, the leading international journal in its field, publishes articles that report and interpret the results of original scientific research in basic and applied ecology." from journal website
Genetics
"published by The Genetics Society of America, publishes high-quality, original research presenting novel findings bearing on genetics and genomics." from journal website.
The Lancet
"The world's leading general medical journal and specialty journals in Oncology, Neurology and Infectious Diseases." from the journal website.
Nature
"Original research articles & letters, review articles, news of science in universities, industry & government, correspondence and opinion pieces." from EBSCO
Nature Genetics
"Presents the latest research across the field, including the Human Genome Project, epigenetics, and technology and chromosome biology." from EBSCO
New England Journal of Medicine
"We are interested in original research that will change clinical practice or teach us something new about the biology of disease." from journal website
Science
"Contains peer-reviewed articles, original research reports, a news section, editorials, letters, and book reviews on timely science-related topics." from EBSCO

Some journals are available in the John Esch Library in print format only. Issues are not available electronically in a library database.

Cell
Science: From 2005 - current will only be available in print in the library or on microfilm in the library. Ask a librarian for assistance.

Using Library Databases to search for articles: The databases below will help you locate articles related to biological sciences. Some articles will be available in full-text (with complete article) while others will only provide a summary/abstract. Articles with summary/abstract may be available in full-text in another library database or available through interlibrary loan.

Password required: Log in with the same username and password used to access your Lakeland email account and Blackboard.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Also includes Botany/Ecology titles. Delay in full-text availability from 1-6 years.
Academic Search Premier (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Created for college-level research, this database covers many subject areas and provides full-text articles from magazines and journals. Unsure which database to use? This is often a great first choice. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
Medline (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
From the National Library of Medicine, this database "provides authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pre-clinical sciences and the health care system." ---EBSCOhost
(Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
Science Reference Center (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text for science-related encyclopedias and reference books as well as full-text and abstracts for science magazines such as Scientific American and scholarly journals. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Contains 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
"Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text - from 1971 forward. " --ProQuest
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers broad range of psychological topics with summaries (abstracts) for over 640 titles with over 540 available in full-text. Relevant to researchers in all areas of psychology, counseling, leadership, human resources management, organizational behavior, personality, psychometrics and psychobiology.

BioMed Central
Offers access to 290 peer-reviewed journals in biology, clinical medicine and health. "Dedicated to open research." (website)
PubMed
From the United States Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health, this site includes over 25 million citations for biomedical literature. Includes some links to full-text.
HighWire Press
"HighWire Press is the largest archive of free full-text science on Earth! "
Directory of Open Access Journals
"DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals."
Google Scholar
Locate scholarly articles, court cases, and books. Not all articles are peer-reviewed. Limited full-text availability. Google Scholar settings can be configured to link to John Esch library database contents.

Video provided courtesy of WebShare101

Link Google Scholar to complete articles available in John Esch Library database.

Go to scholar.google.com
Click Settings.
Select Library Links.
Enter Lakeland University in the search box.
Check Lakeland University John Esch Library - EBSCOhost Full Text.
Click Save. Now your Google Scholar results will indicate if the article can be found in an EBSCOhost database. (Cookies must be enabled to save settings.)

Council of Science Editors
From the Writing Center at the University of WI-Madison.

Need some help?

Ann Penke

Email Me

Contact:

Director of Library Services
W3718 South Dr.
Plymouth, WI 53073

(920) 565-1038, ext. 2416

Is this article in one of the library's databases?

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window
List of all journals, magazines and ebooks available in full-text in Lakeland's library databases. When you have a citation and wonder if the article is available, give Full Text Finder a try.