It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COM 111: Fundamentals of Public Speaking: Home
Created for students in Casey Schmitt's COM 111 class
Portion of the assignment that relates to possible library sources:
"2) Use at least one visual aid, following the instructions discussed in class. This visual aid may be an object, a model, a photo, a drawing, a graph, a physical demonstration, or a digital slide. It should illustrate a point in your speech. Please do not bring anything that is potentially dangerous into the classroom (this includes weapons or illegal substances. Equipment needs beyond an overhead projector must be approved by your instructor at least one week in advance of your speech.
3) In preparing your speech, you must make use of at least four sources. At least one of these sources must be scholarly; no more than one may be a website or blog. Dictionary or encyclopedia sources do not count toward this minimum. All of your sources should be cited in both the speech and in a bibliography of sources at the end of your speech outline. Use MLA-style citation.
Created for college-level research, this database covers many subject areas and provides full-text articles from magazines and journals. Unsure which database to use? This is often a great first choice. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
Contains journals covering communication, mass media and other closely-related fields of study. Impressive historical coverage of some journals from 1915 - present. Offering over 450 titles in full-text.
'It covers many areas of general interest, containing full text for more than 870 reference books, over 2,300 full text periodicals, over 73,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 1.6 mil. photos, maps & flags.' --EBSCOhost (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
Director of Library Services
W3718 South Dr.
Plymouth, WI 53073
(920) 565-1038, ext. 2416
Interlibrary Loan (request from other libraries)
Place your order. If our library doesn't have what you need, use the library's Interlibrary Loan services. The item will be requested from other libraries. If available, articles usually arrive within 3-5 days. Books take up to two weeks. Submit a request.