LibGuides: GEN 135 Humanities II: Finding Scholarly Articles

Where can I find a scholarly article?

The databases listed below are library search tools that will help you find scholarly articles related to topics studied in Humanities II. Carefully review the explanation of each database's content. Be sure to select a database with content in your subject area. For example The MLA International Bibliography is a great tool for locating literature-related articles, but it does not include articles about historical events.

Password required:Log in to library databases with the same credentials you use to access your Lakeland email account and Blackboard.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Also includes Botany/Ecology titles. Delay in full-text availability from 1-6 years.

Directions for JSTOR (Video created for religion students. Useful to all humanities students.)

EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases, many full-text, covering a wide variety of topics. Read the description of each database and select database(s) that contain content related to your topic. Academic Source Premier and MasterFILE Premier cover a variety of topics. (Supported in part by BadgerLink.)

Best bets for locating scholarly humanities-related articles include: Academic Search Premier, Humanities International and History Reference Center.

Directions for EBSCOhost Database s. (video)

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Detailed listing of journal articles, books and dissertations from around the world in the areas of literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, folklore, linguistics, language, film, and history of printing and publishing. Limited links to full-text.

Directions for MLA International Bibliography. (video 6:00)

Where can I find this article?

Image: Derivitive geralt. CC0 1.0.

Need to locate an article from a citation? Use Full Text Finder. Enter the title of the journal in which the article appeared. Your results will include a link to the appropriate database if the article is available in Lakeland's online library.

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window

Full-text Finder says, "No results found." Now what? Give our interlibrary loan services a try.

Interlibrary Loan

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Locate scholarly articles, court cases, and books. Not all articles are peer-reviewed. Limited full-text availability. Google Scholar settings can be configured to link to John Esch library database contents.