LibGuides: History (HIS): Locate Articles in Library Databases

Library Databases with Historical Content

Password required: Log in to the library databases with the same credentials you use to access your Lakeland email account and Blackboard.

If you wish to search multiple EBSCOhost databases at once, click here .

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Also includes Botany/Ecology titles. Delay in full-text availability from 1-6 years.

Directions (Video originally created for religion class. Steps are the same.)

Academic Search Premier (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Created for college-level research, this database covers many subject areas and provides full-text articles from magazines and journals. Unsure which database to use? This is often a great first choice. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)

Directions (Video originally created for Comp II. Steps are the same.)

Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
"Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text - from 1971 forward. " --ProQuest
History Reference Center (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Full text from reference books, history journals/magazines, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps, and historical video. Courtesy of BadgerLink.

Limiting to Primary Sources

MasterFILE Complete (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window

In MasterFILE Premier you can limit your search to primary documents. Execute a search using terms to describe your topic. When the results appear, look on the right for Source Types. Check Primary Source Documents. Your results will change to reflect the items that are primary sources.

Where can I find this article?

Image: Derivitive geralt. CC0 1.0.

Need to locate an article from a citation? Use Full Text Finder. Enter the title of the journal in which the article appeared. Your results will include a link to the appropriate database if the article is available in Lakeland's online library.

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window

Full-text Finder says, "No results found." Now what? Give our interlibrary loan services a try.

Interlibrary Loan