LibGuides: History (HIS): Find Reliable History-Related Websites

Evaluating Internet Sources Using C.R.A.A.P. Test

(Video produced by the University of Mary Washington Media Center.)

Learn how to use Primary Sources

History Matters: Making Sense of Evidence
"This section helps students and teachers make effective use of primary sources. “Making Sense of Documents” provides strategies for analyzing online primary materials..." (From website.)
Using Primary Sources on the Web
From References and User Services Association, a division of the American Library Association, this site is "designed to help students and researchers find and evaluate primary sources available online." (From website.)

Online Primary Sources

African Posters
Posters created by African governments, international agencies and a wide range of organizations. Collection from the Herskovits Library.
Library of Congress Digital Collection
From the Library of Congress, the National Digital Library Program is to offer broad public access to a wide range of historical and cultural documents as a contribution to education and lifelong learning.
Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
Links to documents and supporting documents referred to in the original document from ancient times until the 21st century.
BBC History
English history.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Selected materials from historic U.S. newspapers from 1836-1922.
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
Includes historical documents, video and sound files, maps, photographs, databases and other documentation related to European history.
UN Documents
United Nations official documents from 1993-current.
World Digital Library
Items from 193 countries covering 8000 BCE to 2000 CE from institutions such as the Library of Congress, National Library of Cuba and National Library of Belarus.

Google

In Google you can limit your search to a particular site. For example, looking for information on World War II propaganda. Enter the search query:

"World War II" propaganda site:.gov

After completing a Google web search, click on Images to see what images are revealed. You may find old letters, journal entries, photographs and more. Be sure to carefully evaluate the sources of these images.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Contains a variety of scholarly materials such as articles, theses and books. Not all articles are peer-reviewed. Limited full-text availability. Google Scholar settings can be configured to link to John Esch library database contents.

Follow these step-by-step directions for adjusting settings.

Linking Your School Library to Google Scholar

Access the Google Scholar Settings by clicking on the hamburger in the upper left hand corner.
Click Library links on the left-hand menu.
Type Lakeland University in the search box.
Select the checkboxes next to your Lakeland's name and click Save.