Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
John Esch Library | Lakeland University | W3718 South Drive | Plymouth, WI 53073 | (920) 565-1038 ext. 2420
Identify a company to research
Once you have selected a company to research, go to Wikipedia to see if the company is a parent company or a subsidiary. Go to the parent company website to view:
- the annual report
- !0-K and 10Q (SEC Filings)
These documents are often located in sections with heading such as:
- Investors, or
- Investor Relations
When the documents are open, use ctl F or Command F (Mac) to search for words in the documents such as:
- social media
- new media
Login Required: Access library databases with the same credentials you use to access your Lakeland email account and Blackboard.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Business-focused database providing: articles from scholarly, popular and trade publications, company profiles, industry reports, country reports, SWOT analyses, case studies and more. Includes Harvard Business Review. (Partially funded by BadgerLink.)
Nexis Uni™ This link opens in a new window Premier source for business news, company profiles and legal information.
Newspaper Source Plus (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window Newspaper articles from across the country as well as some international sources with many in full-text. Also includes radio and TV news transcripts. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Covers broad range of psychological topics with summaries (abstracts) for over 640 titles with over 540 available in full-text. Relevant to researchers in all areas of psychology, counseling, leadership, human resources management, organizational behavior, personality, psychometrics and psychobiology.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window Access to publications by Sage Publishing. Scholarly journals in business, counseling, social sciences and humanities are included. Limited full-text.
Journals of Interest
Provides articles, news and product information about the advertising and marketing industry.
Media, Culture & Society
Peer-reviewed journal covering the media including the newer information and communication technologies." (From site.)
New Media & Society
"Top-ranked, peer-reviewed, international journal that publishes key research from communication,media and cultural studies." (From site.)
Short practical advice for improving your workplace communications skills.