Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
John Esch Library | Lakeland University | W3718 South Drive | Plymouth, WI 53073 | (920) 565-1038 ext. 2420
Starting your Research
For some topics you will find an abundance of information; for others, especially emerging topics, you may struggle to find information. For newly emerging topics, your best bet for finding information will be the Internet, news stories and popular magazine articles. Be sure to carefully evaluate the reliability of any information you use. For topics that have been studied longer, books and scholarly articles will provide information that is more thoroughly reviewed.
Be sure to select wisely from the resources listed below. If your topic is just beginning to get attention, don't start your research by looking for books on the topic, instead select a database that covers newspapers.
Researching Your Topic
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Access to over 100,000 electronic books on a wide variety of academic topics. Click PDF Full Text or EPUB to view the book. Many books are also downloadable to portable devices.
Password required. Use the same credentials you use to access your Lakeland email.
Here is a small sample of what's available. Click on a title to access the book.
Lakeland's online library provides access to over 45 different databases. Be sure to select a database that covers the topic of your speech. Watch video: Selecting a Database.
Password required. Use same username and password used to access your Lakeland email account.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Covers current social issues with pro/con viewpoints, statistics, maps, primary documents and videos you can embed in your speech. "Browse Issues" provides a complete list of topics covered and can help those still undecided on a topic.
Academic Search Premier (BadgerLink)
Created for college-level research, this database covers many subject areas and provides full-text articles from magazines and journals. Unsure which database to use? This is often a great first choice. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Contains journals covering communication, mass media and other closely-related fields of study. Impressive historical coverage of some journals from 1915 - present. Offering over 450 titles in full-text.
Psychology Database (ProQuest)
Covers broad range of psychological topics with summaries (abstracts) for over 640 titles with over 540 available in full-text. Relevant to researchers in all areas of psychology, counseling, leadership, human resources management, organizational behavior, personality, psychometrics and psychobiology.
"A comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals."
Also includes articles on sports psychology.
These library databases are password protected. Use same username and password used to access your Lakeland email account.
Near real-time access to top world-wide news. (Courtesy of BadgerLink)
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)
Complete articles from The Wall Street Journal, 1984-current.
Premier source for business news, company profiles and legal information. Check out "Hot Topics" for popular news items or click "Search the News" to search for news related to your topic.
Newspaper Source Plus (BadgerLink)
Newspaper articles from across the country as well as some international sources with many in full-text. Also includes radio and TV news transcripts. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
Give these Internet news sites a try.
Gallup Trends A-Z
Gallup conducts continuous polling in 160 different countries on a variety of issues. You can also search by topic so as to incorporate data in your research.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Consumer Spending Survey, American Time Use Survey, Wages by Area & Occupations and more.
National Conference of State Legislature's
"Since 1975, NCSL has been the champion of state legislatures. We’ve helped states remain strong and independent by giving them the tools, information and resources to craft the best solutions to difficult problems." --NCSL
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
Reports on American social and demographic trends, politics, religion, technology, Hispanics and global issues. Great source of current survey data to add interest and credibility to your speech.
Contains summaries of U.S. nationwide polls conducted by major pollsters, such as Gallup, Harris, CNN/USA Today, Fox News, and others. Limited free content.
Access Harris polls on back to 1998. Search by keyword or date.
From the United Nations Statistics Division, "a world of information."
The United States Census Bureau is a premier source of data on population, economy, employment, families and living arrangements, education, health, income/poverty and housing in the U.S.
USA.gov: Data and Statistics about the United States
Access to U.S. census data and statistics, maps and data and statistics from a wide variety of federal agencies.