LibGuides: COM 350 Rhetorical Criticism: Library Databases

Finding articles

Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains journals covering communication, mass media and other closely-related fields of study. Impressive historical coverage of some journals from 1915 - present. Offering over 450 titles in full-text.

Academic Search Premier (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Created for college-level research, this database covers many subject areas and provides full-text articles from magazines and journals. Unsure which database to use? This is often a great first choice. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Detailed listing of journal articles, books and dissertations from around the world in the areas of literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, folklore, linguistics, language, film, and history of printing and publishing. Limited links to full-text.
Humanities International Complete (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of hundreds of humanities-related journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Courtesy of BadgerLink.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Access to publications by Sage Publishing. Scholarly journals in business, counseling, social sciences and humanities are included. Limited full-text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Also includes Botany/Ecology titles. Delay in full-text availability from 1-6 years.

What is a scholarly article?

This 3 minute video from Vanderbilt University's Peabody Library defines scholarly journal and explains how to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.

This is a short video from the Lincoln Memorial University which explains the difference between Scholarly and Popular Sources.

COM 350 Rhetorical Criticism: Library Databases

Logging in to Library Databases

Finding articles

What is a scholarly article?