Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
John Esch Library | Lakeland University | W3718 South Drive | Plymouth, WI 53073 | (920) 565-1038 ext. 2420
Specialized Databases with Psychology Focus:
Each of the databases below offers different options for limiting your search. By searching one database at a time you have access to each database's unique features. If you prefer to search multiple ProQuest databases at once with less choice of search options, use this link.
PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) Provides full text, peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals. Offers a variety of helpful search options including limiting your results by research methodology.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) Covers broad range of psychological topics with summaries (abstracts) for over 640 titles with over 540 available in full-text. Relevant to researchers in all areas of psychology, counseling, leadership, human resources management, organizational behavior, personality, psychometrics and psychobiology.
PsycINFO (ProQuest) From the American Psychological Association, this database provides summaries (abstracts) for psychology-related materials from the 1800s to present, including journals, books, dissertations and more. No full text although database is set up to link to full text availability in other ProQuest databases. Check Full Text Finder using journal title before ordering articles through Interlibrary Loan.
Multidisciplinary Databases that Include Psychology
Use this link to search multiple EBSCO databases at once.
Education Research Complete (BadgerLink) Education articles from scholarly and trade sources covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education with many in full-text. Chapters from education books also included. (Courtesy of Badgerlink.)
SPORTDiscus (EBSCO) "A comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals."
Also includes articles on sports psychology.
SAGE Journals Online Access to publications by Sage Publishing. Scholarly journals in business, counseling, social sciences and humanities are included. Limited full-text.
Mental Measurements Yearbook Online & Tests in Print (EBSCO)
Test reviews, information on reliability and validity along with basic test facts such as publisher, audience, and purpose for commercially produced tests. Does not include actual test. In your results list, click the title of a test to view reviews and test information. If you click HTML Full Text, you will only access test reviews.
Psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys and other assessments used in psychology, business, education and other social science fields. Complete downloadable tests, mostly drawn from peer-reviewed journals or books, are included for many of the entries. Copies of standardized tests available commercially are not offered although administrative information is included.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Access to over 100,000 electronic books on a wide variety of academic topics. Click PDF Full Text or EPUB to view the book. Many books are also downloadable to portable devices.
Search for print books:
Monarch Catalog will help you locate books in the John Esch Library as well as 33 other area public libraries. Once you have initiated your search, click on Library at the right and limit to Lakeland Library. Items in the Lakeland Library can be mailed to your home. Contact Teresa Grimm for details.
Use Chrome or Firefox for best results. A collection of counseling-related videos including re-enacted therapy sessions. Use an entire video or create a clip to use.
Films on Demand
A collection of quality streaming videos including documentaries and educational films on a wide variety of topics. Select from complete videos or shorter segments.
Academic Writer (formerly APA Style Central)
Designed to help researchers master APA style. The database contains sample research papers, sample references, tutorials and more. Also included are Quick Guides that are short instructional videos on topics like Alphabetizing the Reference List and Creating a Title page. You can link to these videos in your Blackboard course contents. See linking directions on right.
A variety of short videos from the American Psychological Association.
The Counseling Channel (YouTube)
Videos about self-help, counselling, psychotherapy and a range of other talking therapies. Sponsored by CPCAB.
Interviews with Leading Psychological Scientists
From Association for Psychological Science (APS).
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
Includes HealthTopics, news on clinical trials and more.
SciShowPsych Channel (YouTube)
Short videos on a wide variety of psychology topics.
Stanford Health Video Library
"Features prominent doctors presenting the latest health research." (From website) Not all videos are available online. Includes videos spanning a variety of health topics including mental health, geriatrics and spirituality..
TED-Ed, lessons worth sharing, is TED’s youth and education initiative. TED-Ed Original lessons feature the words and ideas of educators brought to life by professional animators. (From website.)
TEDTalks (Browse TED Talks)
"TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less)." (From website.) Browse by keyword, topics, languages, events, speakers, duration and more.
Real life examples of counseling issues can liven up a class discussion and get students to apply theory to actual practice. Give these sites a try:
How can I share these resources with students?
You can provide links for students to easily access specific library resources such as articles, eBooks and videos. Create course reading lists or assign students a video to watch prior to class.
Note: Some publications have licensing restrictions that specifically state that articles cannot be linked to for course assignments. To determine if usage of an item is restricted, scroll to the bottom of the article and read the "Notice of Use Restrictions" or contact the library.