LibGuides: REL 232 Eastern Religious Traditions: Articles

What is a scholarly article?

This 3 minute video from Vanderbilt University's Peabody Library defines scholarly journal and explains how to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.

This is a short video from the Lincoln Memorial University which explains the difference between Scholarly and Popular Sources.

Databases with Religion Articles

Several library databases include religion-related articles.Read the brief description of each database provided below. Select the database that best meets your needs or refer to our complete list of d atabase list on library website.

Password required: Log in to the library databases with the same username and password you use to access your Lakeland email account or Blackboard.

Academic Search Premier (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Created for college-level research, this database covers many subject areas and provides full-text articles from magazines and journals. Unsure which database to use? This is often a great first choice. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
Humanities International Complete (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of hundreds of humanities-related journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Courtesy of BadgerLink.
History Reference Center (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Full text from reference books, history journals/magazines, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps, and historical video. Courtesy of BadgerLink.

Directions for EBSCOhost Databases (video 6:36)

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Also includes Botany/Ecology titles. Delay in full-text availability from 1-6 years.

Directions for JSTOR (video 4:05)

Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
"Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text - from 1971 forward. " --ProQuest

Where can I find this article?

Image: Derivitive geralt. CC0 1.0.

Need to locate an article from a citation? Use Full Text Finder. Enter the title of the journal in which the article appeared. Your results will include a link to the appropriate database if the article is available in Lakeland's online library.

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window

Full-text Finder says, "No results found." Now what? Give our interlibrary loan services a try.

Interlibrary Loan