Finding Articles - HIS 111 - United States History I - LibGuides at Lakeland University

The C.R.A.A.P. Test

Source: McMaster University

The C.R.A.A.P. test is an easy way to evaluate the quality and usefulness of sources for your projects, especially if you are considering sources outside of academic articles and books.

Primary vs. Secondary Sources

Source: Minnesota Historical Society

Databases

BadgerLink This link opens in a new window
Portal to a wide array of resources provided by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. Includes Britannica School, Heritage Quest, TeachingBooks.net and EBSCOhost databases. Many Wisconsin users will be able to access BadgerLink from home using geolocation data, others may require a public library card.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
rimarily articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Delay in full-text availability from 1-5 years. Available on campus only.
History Reference Center (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Full text from reference books, history journals/magazines, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps, and historical video. Courtesy of BadgerLink.
EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases, many full-text, covering a wide variety of topics. Read the description of each database and select database(s) that contain content related to your topic. Academic Source Premier and MasterFILE Premier cover a variety of topics. (Supported in part by BadgerLink.)
Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window
List of all journals, magazines and ebooks available in full-text in Lakeland's library databases. When you have a citation and wonder if the article is available, give Full Text Finder a try.
Nexis Uni™ This link opens in a new window
A resource for a wide variety of American newspapers (including the New York Times) as well as Supreme Court and other legal resources

John Esch Library's Databases
See the full list of available databases and sources at the library's website

Google Scholar

Google Scholar uses's Google's algorithms to search academic publications.

HIS 111 - United States History I: Finding Articles

The C.R.A.A.P. Test

Primary vs. Secondary Sources

Databases

Google Scholar