LibGuides: ENG: British Literature: Modern and Post Modern

Off Campus login information

To access the following databases from off-campus, you will need to log in. Log in with the same username and password you use to access your Lakeland email account and Blackboard.

Library Resources

The following databases will help you access information on Modern and Post Modern literature.

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Detailed listing of journal articles, books and dissertations from around the world in the areas of literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, folklore, linguistics, language, film, and history of printing and publishing. Limited links to full-text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Also includes Botany/Ecology titles. Delay in full-text availability from 1-6 years.
Literary Reference Center Plus (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Full-text database that includes book reviews, articles/essays of literary criticisms, plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, author biographies and interviews, classic and contemporary poems and classic and contemporary short stories. Use "Advanced Search" to search by author's cultural identity, national identity or gender. Courtesy of BadgerLink.
Academic Search Premier (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Created for college-level research, this database covers many subject areas and provides full-text articles from magazines and journals. Unsure which database to use? This is often a great first choice. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
"Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text - from 1971 forward. " --ProQuest

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Access to over 100,000 electronic books on a wide variety of academic topics. Click PDF Full Text or EPUB to view the book. Many books are also downloadable to portable devices.

Training videos:

Check out these sample titles:

Becoming Virginia Woolf by Barbara Lounsberry
ISBN: 9780813049915
Publication Date: 2014-08-05
Modernism and the Women's Popular Romance in Britain, 1885-1925 by Martin Hipsky
ISBN: 9780821419700
Publication Date: 2011-12-06

Search Monarch Catalog for books, DVDs and other materials in Lakeland's John Esch Library and other Sheboygan area libraries. On-campus students with a current Lakeland library card may request items be sent to the Lakeland library for pick up. Online students and students attending at Lakeland Centers across the state may request that items available in the Lakeland library be mailed to their home. Email Teresa Grimm for details.

Try the following Series' titles in the above search box (search by series) to get a taste for what is available:

Woolf, Virginia, 1882-1941 -- Criticism and interpretation

Woolf, Virginia

Highwire Press Archive
"HighWire plays a unique role in the online publishing business: affiliated with an academic library, a first-class research institution, and partner and colleague to scholarly societies who value the high quality and content of their journals, books and other materials. "
Directory of Open Access Journals
"DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals."
Google Scholar
Google Scholar indexes a great deal of scholarly literature online. If the full text is available, there will be a link to a document to the right of the search result. If there is no full text, you can submit an Interlibrary loan request.

Step-by-step directions to link Google Scholar results to articles in library databases. (video 1:49 minutes)

WorldCat
Search WorldCat, and on the left side of the result screen, limit your results to "downloadable article."

Video provided courtesy of WebShare101

Interlibrary Loan (request from other libraries)

Place your order. If our library doesn't have what you need, use the library's Interlibrary Loan services. The item will be requested from other libraries. If available, articles usually arrive within 3-5 days. Books take up to two weeks. Submit a request.