LibGuides: CRJ 480: Violent Crime: Articles

Off Campus login information

To access the following databases from off-campus, you will need to log in. Log in with the same username and password you use to access your Lakeland email account and Blackboard.

Find Articles

Nexis Uni™ This link opens in a new window
Premier source for business news, company profiles and legal information.
Academic Search Premier (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Created for college-level research, this database covers many subject areas and provides full-text articles from magazines and journals. Unsure which database to use? This is often a great first choice. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
Newspaper Source Plus (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from across the country as well as some international sources with many in full-text. Also includes radio and TV news transcripts. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Access U.S. and international criminal justice journals, trade publications, crime reports and more.

Landmark U.S. Cases

Supreme Court Landmarks
"Participate in interactive landmark Supreme Court cases that have shaped history and have an impact on law-abiding citizens today."
Bill of Rights Institute - Landmark Supreme Court Cases
"From the first days of American history until today, the Supreme Court has been pivotal in interpreting the Constitution and shaping America’s constitutional republic. Read summaries of the majority ruling in landmark Supreme Court cases that have had an impact on our rights as citizens."

Where can I find this article in full-text?

Sample citation:

Rutman, I. D. (1992). As Ben Franklin once said, let's all hang together. Psychosocial Rehabilitation Journal, 16 (1-2).

To determine if this article is available in full-text in a library database:

Determine the name of the journal from the citation. (usually in italics or underlined)
Go to library website, Database Find Articles page.
Click Full Text Finder.
Enter the name of the journal.
Click Search.
The results will list any databases that include the journal in full-text and the dates of coverage.
If you cannot find the article in full-text, you can submit an ILL request as described in the box below.

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window
List of all journals, magazines and ebooks available in full-text in Lakeland's library databases. When you have a citation and wonder if the article is available, give Full Text Finder a try.

Interlibrary Loan (request from other libraries)

Place your order. If our library doesn't have what you need, use the library's Interlibrary Loan services. The item will be requested from other libraries. If available, articles usually arrive within 3-5 days. Books take up to two weeks. Submit a request.

Open Access Journals

Highwire Press Archive
"HighWire plays a unique role in the online publishing business: affiliated with an academic library, a first-class research institution, and partner and colleague to scholarly societies who value the high quality and content of their journals, books and other materials. "
Directory of Open Access Journals
"DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals."
Google Scholar
Google Scholar indexes a great deal of scholarly literature online. If the full text is available, there will be a link to a document to the right of the search result. If there is no full text, you can submit an Interlibrary loan request.

Video demonstrating how to set your Google Scholar settings to link to complete articles in library databases.