LibGuides: CRJ Getting Started in Criminal Justice Research: Find Articles

What is a scholarly article?

This 3 minute video from Vanderbilt University's Peabody Library defines scholarly journal and explains how to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.

This is a short video from the Lincoln Memorial University which explains the difference between Scholarly and Popular Sources.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
Published by the U.S. Department of Justice, this collection pulls together criminal justice-related publications from a wide variety of agencies at local, state and federal levels of government. Limited full-text, but remember the library may be able to obtain the item for you through interlibrary loan. Coverage range 1970's to present.

Interlibrary loan request form.

Use library databases to find articles.

Password required: Log in to library databases with the same username and password you use to access Lakeland email and Blackboard.

Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
All content is criminal justice related. Provides U.S. and international journals, trade publications, crime reports and more.

Directions for Criminal Justice Database (video) (7 minutes)

SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Access to publications by Sage Publishing. Scholarly journals in business, counseling, social sciences and humanities are included. Limited full-text.

Directions for SAGE Journals. (video) (6:47 minutes)

Academic Search Premier (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Created for college-level research, this database covers many subject areas and provides full-text articles from magazines and journals. Unsure which database to use? This is often a great first choice. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
Military and Government Collection (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Covers security, terrorism, military policing, cyber-crime as well as news pertaining to all branches of the military.

Directions (EBSCO). (video 8:47)

Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes articles on abnormal behavior and other psychological topics of interest to criminal justice researchers.
PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text, peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals. Offers a variety of helpful search options including limiting your results by research methodology.
PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
From the American Psychological Association, this database provides summaries (abstracts) for psychology-related materials from the 1800s to present, including journals, books, dissertations and more. No full text although database is set up to link to full text availability in other ProQuest databases. Check Full Text Finder using journal title before ordering articles through Interlibrary Loan.

Where can I find this journal?

"I really need this article from Criminology and Public Policy. Is it available in full-text in any library database?" (student request)

Full Text Finder, available on the Database Find Articles section of our web page is just what you need. Enter the name of the journal. If it's available, a list of databases with coverage will appear. Click on the database title. You will be redirected to the database where you can locate the article.

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Contains a variety of scholarly materials such as articles, theses and books. Not all articles are peer-reviewed. Limited full-text availability. Google Scholar settings can be configured to link to John Esch library database contents.

Follow these step-by-step directions for adjusting settings.

Linking Your School Library to Google Scholar

Access the Google Scholar Settings by clicking on the hamburger in the upper left hand corner.
Click Library links on the left-hand menu.
Type Lakeland University in the search box.
Select the checkboxes next to your Lakeland's name and click Save.