LibGuides: Education (EDU): Articles

What is a scholarly article?

This 3 minute video from Vanderbilt University's Peabody Library defines scholarly journal and explains how to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.

This is a short video from the Lincoln Memorial University which explains the difference between Scholarly and Popular Sources.

Library databases for locating education-related articles

Education Research Complete (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Education articles from scholarly and trade sources covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education with many in full-text. Chapters from education books also included. (Courtesy of Badgerlink.)
Professional Development Collection (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Contains educational reports and full-text articles and abstracts from a variety of scholarly and trade publications. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Education-related materials, many in full-text (complete articles). Access articles, conference proceedings, manuals, checklists, dissertations, product reviews, reports, tests and books. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Access to publications by Sage Publishing. Scholarly journals in business, counseling, social sciences and humanities are included. Limited full-text.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Focused on psychological topics this database will help you find articles on: educational psychology, child development, behavioral issues. parenting, counseling and more.
Academic Search Premier (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Created for college-level research, this database covers many subject areas and provides full-text articles from magazines and journals. Unsure which database to use? This is often a great first choice. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)

Where can I find this article in full-text?

Sound familiar? You have a citation for an article you'd like to read, but don't know where to find the complete article.

Use Full Text Finder to see if the article is available in a library database. Follow these steps:

Enter the name of the publication in which the item appeared.
Click Search. Your results will provide a link to library databases containing the complete article.
Check the dates of coverage. If the library subscribes to a print copy of the journal, that will be noted. If the items is not available, give interlibrary loan services a try.

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window

Education (EDU): Articles

Logging in to Lakeland's online library resources.

What is a scholarly article?

Library databases for locating education-related articles

Where can I find this article in full-text?