LibGuides: ENG 225 Multicultural American Literature: Find Articles

What is a scholarly article?

This 3 minute video from Vanderbilt University's Peabody Library defines scholarly journal and explains how to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.

This is a short video from the Lincoln Memorial University which explains the difference between Scholarly and Popular Sources.

Where can I find this article in full-text?

Sound familiar? You have a citation for an article you'd like to read, but don't know where to find the complete article.

Use Full Text Finder to see if the article is available in a library database. Follow these steps:

Enter the name of the publication in which the item appeared.
Click Search. Your results will provide a link to library databases containing the complete article.
Check the dates of coverage. If the library subscribes to a print copy of the journal, that will be noted. If the items is not available, give interlibrary loan services a try.

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window

Literature Databases

Login required: Log in to library databases with the same credentials you use to access your Lakeland email and Blackboard.

List of Databases on library web page.

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Detailed listing of journal articles, books and dissertations from around the world in the areas of literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, folklore, linguistics, language, film, and history of printing and publishing. Limited links to full-text.

Directions for MLA (video 5:59)

Humanities International Complete (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of hundreds of humanities-related journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Courtesy of BadgerLink.

Directions for Humanities International Complete (EBSCOhost) (video 5:59)

Literary Reference Center Plus (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Full-text database that includes book reviews, articles/essays of literary criticisms, plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, author biographies and interviews, classic and contemporary poems and classic and contemporary short stories. Use "Advanced Search" to search by author's cultural identity, national identity or gender. Courtesy of BadgerLink.

Related Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Also includes Botany/Ecology titles. Delay in full-text availability from 1-6 years.

Directions for JSTOR (Video, 4:06 minutes, created originally for religion class. Directions are the same regardless of topic.)

Academic Search Premier (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Created for college-level research, this database covers many subject areas and provides full-text articles from magazines and journals. Unsure which database to use? This is often a great first choice. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Locate scholarly articles, court cases, and books. Not all articles are peer-reviewed. Limited full-text availability. Google Scholar settings can be configured to link to John Esch library database contents.