LibGuides: PSY 411 Biological Psychology: Find Articles

What is a scholarly article?

This 3 minute video from Vanderbilt University's Peabody Library defines scholarly journal and explains how to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.

This is a short video from the Lincoln Memorial University which explains the difference between Scholarly and Popular Sources.

Is this journal available in full-text?

Have a citation for an article, but no article? Determine if the article is available in Lakeland's online library by using Full Text Finder. Search using the name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared. The results will indicate if the publication is available in a library database. Print holdings of the library are also listed. If the publication yields no results, request the item through interlibrary loan.

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window

Databases

Password required: Log in to library databases using the same username and password you use to access your Lakeland email account.

Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers broad range of psychological topics with summaries (abstracts) for over 640 titles with over 540 available in full-text. Relevant to researchers in all areas of psychology, counseling, leadership, human resources management, organizational behavior, personality, psychometrics and psychobiology.
PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text, peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals. Offers a variety of helpful search options including limiting your results by research methodology.

Directions for PsycARTICLES (video)

PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
From the American Psychological Association, this database provides summaries (abstracts) for psychology-related materials from the 1800s to present, including journals, books, dissertations and more. No full text although database is set up to link to full text availability in other ProQuest databases. Check Full Text Finder using journal title before ordering articles through Interlibrary Loan.

Directions for PsycINFO (video)

SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Access to publications by Sage Publishing. Scholarly journals in business, counseling, social sciences and humanities are included. Limited full-text.

Directions for SAGE Journals.

Academic Search Premier (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Created for college-level research, this database covers many subject areas and provides full-text articles from magazines and journals. Unsure which database to use? This is often a great first choice. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
Science Reference Center (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text for science-related encyclopedias and reference books as well as full-text and abstracts for science magazines such as Scientific American and scholarly journals. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)

Directions EBSCO (video)

PubMed
From the United States Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health, this site includes over 25 million citations for biomedical literature. Includes some links to full-text.

PubMed tutorial from the NIH U.S. National Library of Medicine.

PubMed Central
PubMed Central is portion of PubMed that provides complete articles. If you wish to limit your search, to items within PubMed that include the complete article , use this link.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Locate scholarly articles, court cases, and books. Not all articles are peer-reviewed. Limited full-text availability. Google Scholar settings can be configured to link to John Esch library database contents.