LibGuides: ENG 324 Twentieth-Century American Literature: Locating Journal Articles

What is a scholarly article?

This 3 minute video from Vanderbilt University's Peabody Library defines scholarly journal and explains how to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.

This is a short video from the Lincoln Memorial University which explains the difference between Scholarly and Popular Sources.

Where Can I Find This Article?

Looking for an article listed on a Works Cited page. Use Full Text Finder to check for availability in a library database. Enter the name of the journal in which the article appeared. Full Text Finder will indicate if the journal is available and link you to the article.

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window

Locating Articles and Literary Criticism

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Detailed listing of journal articles, books and dissertations from around the world in the areas of literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, folklore, linguistics, language, film, and history of printing and publishing. Limited links to full-text.

Directions for MLA Bibliography (video 5:58)

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Also includes Botany/Ecology titles. Delay in full-text availability from 1-6 years.

Directions for JSTOR (Created for religion class. Will work for literature.)

Humanities International Complete (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of hundreds of humanities-related journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Courtesy of BadgerLink.

Directions for Humanities International Complete. (Video 5:59)

Literary Reference Center Plus (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Full-text database that includes book reviews, articles/essays of literary criticisms, plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, author biographies and interviews, classic and contemporary poems and classic and contemporary short stories. Use "Advanced Search" to search by author's cultural identity, national identity or gender. Courtesy of BadgerLink.
Academic Search Premier (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Created for college-level research, this database covers many subject areas and provides full-text articles from magazines and journals. Unsure which database to use? This is often a great first choice. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Locate scholarly articles, court cases, and books. Not all articles are peer-reviewed. Limited full-text availability. Google Scholar settings can be configured to link to John Esch library database contents.

ENG 324 Twentieth-Century American Literature: Locating Journal Articles

Off Campus Access

What is a scholarly article?

Where Can I Find This Article?

Locating Articles and Literary Criticism

Google Scholar