CN 716 Lifespan Development & Counseling: Find Articles

1. Use quotation marks to enclose your terms when they are words commonly used together to describe a concept. Examples include:

• "rough and tumble play"
• "emotional intelligence"

2. Use connector words (Boolean operators) to create an effective search query:

• AND - Example: technology and "cognitive development" and children. Results will include ALL terms. 
• OR - Example: "trust based relational intervention" OR TBRI.  Results will include EITHER the complete phrase or the abbreviation.

3. Try truncation. Many databases recognize a truncation symbol.  In both EBSCO and ProQuest databases, an asterisk at the end of a root word, will bring back results with any form of the word. Example: counsel*  brings back articles with counsel, counseling, counsels and counselor. The truncation symbol varies from database to database.  Use the database's Help option to determine the proper truncation symbol. 

4. Carefully select search terms to identify your main concepts. Do not enter an entire sentence or question in the search box. Example: cortisol and infant development

mage: OpenClipart-Vectors.  CC0 1.0 

Directions EBSCOhost Databases.

Directions PsycARTICLES.

Directions Sage Online Journals.

Directions PsycINFO.

Image: Derivitive geralt. CC0 1.0.

Need to locate an article from a citation?  Use Full Text Finder. Enter the title of the journal in which the article appeared. Your results will include a link to the appropriate database if the article is available in Lakeland's online library.  

Full-text Finder says, "No results found." Now what? Give our interlibrary loan services a try.