Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
John Esch Library | Lakeland University | W3718 South Drive | Plymouth, WI 53073 | (920) 565-1038 ext. 2420
Explore Census Data
Access to a variety of U.S. census data and government surveys. Locate statistics for your community, county, the state or beyond. Includes data on age, population, race, income, the economy, education, family make-up, health and more.
The entire Economic census is available on the Internet. Use it to obtain a snapshot of the U.S. economy and the millions of businesses that operate in the U.S. Use NAICS codes to search for a particular industry.
The United States Census Bureau is a premier source of data on population, economy, employment, families and living arrangements, education, health, income/poverty and housing in the U.S.
United States Census Training
Interested in more training on how to access the vast amount of data available in the census surveys, check out these training options. Tutorials are also available.
More Government Sites
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Consumer Spending Survey, American Time Use Survey, Wages by Area & Occupations and more.
Demographic Services Center
Part of the Wisconsin Department of Administration, this site provides demographic information for Wisconsin.
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission's free access to over 20 million filings. Includes guide, How to Research Public Companies.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Long the librarians go-to guide for United States statistics, this publication is no longer published by the U.S. government. It can still help researchers unsure where to find the statistics needed. View the complete 2012 issue online. Each table lists the source of the data. Go to the source's website and look for current statistics.
Wisconsin Blue Book
Another source of Wisconsin statistical information. Provides access to legislatively mandated reports.
bizrefdesk.com: Land of the free & the good.
Mantained by Terese Mulkern Terry. "My mantra: It don't mean a thing if it ain't got that S.W. I. N. G. (Sources With Impeccable Numbers Given!)" (from site) Select from the content categories listed on the right.
Often quoted reports on American social and demographic trends, politics, religion, technology, and global issues. Numerous surveys/reports on Hispanic/Latino population in the U.S.
Surveys of Consumers
From the University of Michigan, this site includes Index of Customer Sentiment and Index of Consumer Expectations.
Market Research Reports
List of market research studies and their cost. Very limited free content. Resources section offers ebooks and white papers free with registration.
Statistics using Google
Before using Google to search for statistics related to your topic, consider who would be likely to collect the data you need. Google allows you to limit your results to a particular site. For example, adding the words, site:.gov, to the search query milk consumption will limit your results to government sites.
Another option is Google Images where, in addition to photo images, you will find statistical charts and graphs. Be sure to evaluate the source of the statistics you retrieve before using.
Photo credit: geralt CCO Public Domain
Claritas evaluates market segments. Includes zip code look up. Limited free content.
From Esri, this site provides limited free segmentation data. Includes income, age and population density data.