LibGuides: Interlibrary Loan: Finding Articles

What is a scholarly article?

This 3 minute video from Vanderbilt University's Peabody Library defines scholarly journal and explains how to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.

This is a short video from the Lincoln Memorial University which explains the difference between Scholarly and Popular Sources.

Databases

Lakeland's online library contains over 45 databases to help you locate articles. Use the handy links below to immediately connect to multi-disciplinary databases. Unsure which database to use? Check this list of databases arranged by subject area(s) covered.

Password required: When prompted, use the same credentials you use to access your Lakeland email account and Blackboard.

Academic Search Premier (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Created for college-level research, this database covers many subject areas and provides full-text articles from magazines and journals. Unsure which database to use? This is often a great first choice. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
MasterFILE Complete (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
'It covers many areas of general interest, containing full text for more than 870 reference books, over 2,300 full text periodicals, over 73,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 1.6 mil. photos, maps & flags.' --EBSCOhost (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)

Step-by-step directions for EBSCOhost Databases. (video 9:11)

Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
"Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text - from 1971 forward. " --ProQuest
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Also includes Botany/Ecology titles. Delay in full-text availability from 1-6 years.

Directions for JSTOR (video)

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers current social issues with information in a variety of formats: Pro/con viewpoints, video clips, statistics, maps, primary documents and more.

Directions for Opposing Viewpoints (video)

Google Scholar

Google Scholar contains a variety of materials designated as scholarly by Google such as: scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, articles that are not peer-reviewed, court decisions, patent information, chapters from books and more. Google Scholar results often include items without the complete document. Google Scholar settings can be configured to link to John Esch library database contents.

Follow these step-by-step directions for adjusting settings.

Linking Your School Library to Google Scholar

Access the Google Scholar Settings by clicking on the hamburger in the upper left hand corner.
Click Library links on the left-hand menu.
Type Lakeland University in the search box.
Select the checkboxes next to your Lakeland's name and click Save.