LibGuides: MKT 375 Marketing Research: Finding Articles

What is a scholarly article?

This 3 minute video from Vanderbilt University's Peabody Library defines scholarly journal and explains how to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.

This is a short video from the Lincoln Memorial University which explains the difference between Scholarly and Popular Sources.

Library Databases with Scholarly Business Content

Password Required:Log in with the same credentials you use to access your Lakeland email account.

Databases often include an option to limit your results to scholarly articles such as this:

The following databases provide access to scholarly, popular and trade articles:

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Business-focused database providing: articles from scholarly, popular and trade publications, company profiles, industry reports, country reports, SWOT analyses, case studies and more. Includes Harvard Business Review. (Partially funded by BadgerLink.)
Academic Search Premier (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Created for college-level research, this database covers many subject areas and provides full-text articles from magazines and journals. Unsure which database to use? This is often a great first choice. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
"Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text - from 1971 forward. " --ProQuest

Newspaper Databases

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Complete articles from The Wall Street Journal, 1984-current.
Newspaper Source Plus (BadgerLink) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from across the country as well as some international sources with many in full-text. Also includes radio and TV news transcripts. (Courtesy of BadgerLink.)

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Contains a variety of scholarly materials such as articles, theses and books. Not all articles are peer-reviewed. Limited full-text availability. Google Scholar settings can be configured to link to John Esch library database contents.

Follow these step-by-step directions for adjusting settings.

Linking Your School Library to Google Scholar

Access the Google Scholar Settings by clicking on the hamburger in the upper left hand corner.
Click Library links on the left-hand menu.
Type Lakeland University in the search box.
Select the checkboxes next to your Lakeland's name and click Save.